Alpena, MichiganLocal Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

Alpena Hall of Fame hosts enshrinement ceremony for 2018 class

The 2018 Hall of Fame class lines up together to show off their plaques.

Alpena, Mich — The 2018 Alpena Hall of Fame class was officially enshrined Saturday night at the 36th annual Hall of Fame Dinner.

Melissa Brousseau O’Dell, Wayne Christopherson, Donald Deadman, Rachel Gerbauer Garant, and Bill Romstadt were enshrined for their athletic achievements. Rudy & Marylin Bauer and Jim & Janet Mott were enshrined for their contributions to athletics in the Alpena community. The 1971 Alpena High School district champion basketball team was also recognized as 2018’s team of the year.

The ceremony and dinner was filled with stories, fond memories, and remembrance for those who have passed away. The inductees also shared their gratitude to the community.

One of the many special moments during the night happened when current senior Chris DeRocher and 1989 inductee Ray “Butch” Feher were able to meet for the first time. DeRocher was able to step away from Alpena’s prom to express his gratitude towards Feher’s all-time basketball scoring record. Feher, in turn, congratulated DeRocher for being the one to break his record.